Embodying Love – Let’s All Get Naked and Fast

Reading about Dorothy Day this morning, I was reminded of the tug of asceticism I have felt as I try to follow Jesus. Many times I have succumbed to the temptation Thomas Merton notes, spiritual pride (“Who can escape the secret desire to breathe a different atmosphere from the rest of men?”), only later to uncover among my insufficient efforts the desire for self-justification against which Luther and the Reformers reacted so strongly.

Yet, I have returned again and again to the idea, if not the practice, of discipline. Why must I careen from extreme to extreme?

Self-discipline, even self-mortification, is necessary because Sin is persistent and destructive. Active participation in the life of God requires self-control. “The end of all things is near; therefore, be of sound judgment and sober spirit for the purpose of prayer.” (1 Peter 4:7, NASB)

We are saved by God’s love; but we experience our salvation in our love for God. Such love takes concrete shape in a life of compassion and discipline within community.

This is the core of personalism:

all people share a common humanity: each of us becomes who we are meant to be by assuming personal responsibility for our brothers and sisters in need. . . .[and participating in] the works of mercy at a personal sacrifice. –(Praying With Dorothy Day, James Allaire and Rosemary Broughton).

So we need discipline to pray; discipline to be compassionate; discipline to be fully human. And now I am speaking about the body of Christ. And your body, which is you. And my body, which is me.

I’m not going to let my fear of “works righteousness” keep me from throwing my whole body at God. And this may mean I have to skip a few meals. It may also mean I have to strip off a few other creature comforts.

Shh. . .let’s all get naked before God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by JMS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “Embodying Love – Let’s All Get Naked and Fast

  1. “Self-discipline, even self-mortification, is necessary because Sin is persistent and destructive.”

    This sounds like works righteousness. Sin is persistent and destructive, therefore I (self) must act? No says the gospel. Sin is persistent and destructive, therefore only God can deal with it.

    Lee Camp, in the first chapter of Mere Discipleship, says this regarding Christian rites:
    “Rather than understanding things like worship, baptism, and prayer as things we ‘must do’ in order to be pleasing to God, we should understand that these are God’s gifts to us, and to the world. Rather than seeing these practices as mere religious ritual, we should understand these practices as the very type of good life for which we were created, and at the same time as practices that help sustain us in the good life to which we have been called.”

    I believe these words could also be applied to spiritual disciplines.

  2. I hear where you’re coming from – I agree that only God’s grace is a match for sin. But I stand by my original comment that “Self-discipline, even self-mortification, is necessary because Sin is persistent and destructive.”

    Grace does not mean “if it feels good do it.” That fact that we have all sinned and fallen short of the Glory of God does not mean that our good works and our good efforts make no difference in the Kingdom of God or in the quality of our spiritual lives.

    What my post tried to express is the fine balance in Christian life between grace and law. We are saved by grace – but that grace transforms us in a process characterized by our personal suffering and struggle. The Eastern Orthodox call this process “divinization” – becoming more like God.

Leave a Reply

