Faith and Fetishes

I am beginning to worry myself. I know a great deal about desiring what is forbidden. For every taboo we have smashed together, I thank you. But although I have always thought that I was capable of thinking the worst, now I find a new wall within myself – a new border around the ponderable. I see the shadows of a thousand forbidden thoughts I could never before have considered – they are yours. I sense the shallowness of my own self-referential obscenities, and I am horrified by your capacity for infidelity. I have long known my own – my faith has been formed around the fidelities necessary to tame my fetishes. But do I have the faith to tame yours? Do I have confidence in your faith? Do I have the faithfulness to endure your violations? The grace and love of God are more terrifying than ever before.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by JMS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

